width=Every person has a worldview and every worldview is a story. The secular worldview is based on a belief that the cosmos is all there is, or ever was, or ever will be. It’s a story that started by chance, is governed by nothing, and is heading nowhere.

On the other hand, the Christian narrative begins with the belief summarized in John’s gospel, “In the beginning was the Word . . . and the Word became flesh.” The Christian story is simply better, and to borrow a pet phrase from Henry Kissinger, “it has the added advantage of being true.”

This story of talking owls is intended to serve as a conversation starter; a place to begin a discussion about what best accounts for the human experience: Nature or God. Either nature is pointing inward, towards itself, or it is pointing outward to a loving and powerful Creator. As Clive the owl says in the story: there are clues that show us nature is not all that exists.

C.S. Lewis, the beloved author of Narnia, said it well, “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” Like Lewis, I believe that Christianity best explains not only the natural world, but also the human experience.

Lewis serves as inspiration for these stories in more ways than one. C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien famously met to discuss their stories with a small group of friends that became known as “The Inklings.” Two other British authors are often associated with this group in terms of similar interests and influence: Dorothy Sayers and G.K. Chesterton. These four serve as the inspiration for the owls: Clive, Gilbert, Dorothy, and Reuel.

Help The Owlings take flight! The first Owlings book quickly climbed to the #1 spot on Amazon for new releases in its genre and remained in the top three for a month, which is how long new releases are ranked. Help us get the word out again for the new book. Click on one of the icons below to share on social media:



Book One

owlingsthreed2The Owlings: A Worldview Novella is the first in  a series of five books designed to introduce fundamental worldview concepts through a story about four talking owls and a little boy named Josiah. The first book was published in the fall of 2014 and is available on Amazon here.

The first book focuses on the truth that there is more than nature. The atheistic scientist Carl Sagan once famously said, “The cosmos is all there is, or ever was, or ever will be.” The Christian view is that there is more, that God exists outside of time and space as the Creator of the material world. Josiah learns this lesson as he and his mom face the possibility of losing their family farm. You can read an excerpt from the first book here.

Download the discussion guide here.


Book Two

owlingsthumb2The Owlings: Book Two released in 2015. You can buy it here. Get ready to join Josiah for a school outing to a science museum where he’s again visited by Gilbert and the other owls. As Josiah and Addi set out to solve the case of a stolen lunchbox they learn some important lessons about the world — that it doesn’t exist by or for itself.

The second Owlings book is a simple story to help younger readers, older ones as well, to begin to grasp the power of the Christian view of the world. While the book touches on many moral themes like poverty, contentment, bullying, charity, sympathy, generosity, and the like, its main goal is to demonstrate the explanatory power of Christianity in contrast to a worldview best described as “scientism.”

The Owlings: Book Two also includes a short afterword for parents and a discussion guide. I hope this humble attempt at teaching worldview to children is a useful resource for you and your family.

the author

D.A. DeWitt (PhD, Southern Seminary) is the founding director for the Center for Biblical Apologetics at Cedarville University where he also serves as associate professor of applied theology and apologetics. He and his wife, April, reside in Ohio with their four children, Isaiah, Micah, Josiah, and Addiliynn. Dan is the author of Jesus or Nothing (Crossway 2014) and Christ or Chaos (Crossway 2016). Dan posts regularly on his blog Theolatte.com.

Other Books By the Author: